Making the Most of Being Single

Image

…Making the most of being single?

Well, let me first qualify the “single” in my current status, a status mind you that I’ve had for the last two decades.  Now when I say that I am single, I am talking about not having been on a date in seven years…single. And, not having been in a committed relationship in twenty years…single. And, you better sit down for this next one—not having kissed a guy in twenty years…single. Why do I feel like I just told you I have leprosy?

Needless to say, I have had more than enough opportunities to make the most of my singleness, which is the reason I am sharing my experiences with you, so you can learn to thrive while you hold the beloved (and not so, at times) single status. One of the key components for me in this waiting game has been found in one statement: “Push play on today.” I coined this somewhere along my journey of singleness as a result of the temptation I faced to want to push the pause button on my life until my “Mr.” came along and swept me away to my “happily ever after.” But what I realized was that I’m not promised tomorrow and I have no idea if God is going to gift me with my hunk of a man in this lifetime. What I DO know is that He has given me today.

Allow me to share with you three ways I’ve chosen to push play on today along my own journey of singleness that I hope will also help you in yours!

3 Ways to Push Play on Today:

  1. Push play on your dreams, creativity, & passions
  2. Push play on your friendships & fun
  3. Push play on God

Push play on your dreams, creativity, and passionsHonestly, there have been major bumps, bruises, heartaches, and heartbreaks along this road of being single and if it weren’t for one of these “push play” buttons of pursuing a dream, a passion, and having a creative outlet, the Lord only knows what would have happened! During these last twenty years of being single, I have lived and traveled around the world loving people to Jesus, signed a two-year modeling contract with one of NYC’s top agencies, helped open a children’s center for street kids in the poorest city of Lithuania, learned to sew, written a book, produced conferences, and more. Each of these played a significant role in my journey of waiting and has allowed me to be productive through the pain of the wait.  What about you?  What are some of the dreams stirring inside of you? What are you passionate about? What do love doing? Go and DO it. Pursue your passions.  Have fun and be creative.  Just…push play.

Push play of your friendships and fun.   Have fun, enjoy the life you are living today, and be thankful for the people God has put around you.  Do the things you enjoy doing, the things that you may have pushed pause on because you think, “I’ll do that when I have a boyfriend or am married.”  Why wait when you can do those things now?  Travel to Italy with friends.  See the Eiffel Tower.  Jump out of an airplane, if that’s what you fancy.  Whatever it may be, just…push play.

Push play on God.  We were created to be fully complete through the love that comes from the One who made us.  And it is when we are connecting to the heart of our heavenly Father that we will be most fulfilled and loved (even after marriage).  There is a love that is supernatural that God supplies us, but it takes faith and trust to receive it.  Just as I will someday choose to entrust my heart to a man, believing that he has my best interest in mind and loves me, I also have to do the same with my heart to God.  The most satisfying relationship I have is the one with the lover of my soul, who has captured every bit of my heart, soul, mind, and strength by His amazing love.  It is in this state of my heart that I hope my future husband finds me, as I hope to find him there as well.  If you have been distant with God, or have not fully trusted your heart over to Him, I would ask you to do so because there is no one who is going to love you more wonderfully than Him. He designed it that way because He wants our hearts to be fully His. Here are some ways I enjoy connecting with God: reading the Bible, journaling, reading books, listening to worship music, taking walks outside, going to the zoo, being around kids, watching horses, and so much more! This will always be the most important button to push play on each and every day, whether single or married.  So please… push play.

I pray that as you wait for your Adamthat you will find strength, hope, and encouragement by pursuing your dreams, creativity, and passions, by having fun with the friendships around you, and most importantly, by being captivated by the Lover of your soul, Jesus.

So, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and push play on your today.

12 thoughts on “Making the Most of Being Single

  1. Lara,
    Thank for sharing your thoughts, this extends far beyond single hood. I struggle daily with being thankful for where God has placed me, and not longing to be elsewhere. I pray each morning and each night to see what His plans are for me here and now, not when or where something is different or perfect in my eyes…

  2. Thank you Ellen for sharing your thoughts…and I agree with you that it does extend beyond singlehood. I understand firsthand the temptation to want to be where the grass seems greener or expecting something in the future will satisfy us in a way that the present is not. And, I have also found to be true that savoring the here and now (in whatever state it comes) brings a contentment in God that offers peace~

  3. You have so inspired me to follow my heart and deepen my relationship with God! Thank you so much for sharing and I will be keeping this as an everyday reminder to press play on life and trust God in all I do!

  4. Pingback: One of Your Sons | caterfly lara

  5. I really love this blog Lara. It’s imperative for an individual to depend on ,and experience God’s love before seeking out a relationship. It makes all the difference. And, no you don’t have leprosy, God’s timing is best 🙂

Leave a Reply

