God, The Nugget & Me

Today begins “Phase 2” of Jordan Rubin’s Maker’s Diet “40-Day Health Experience” where a variety of new foods are re-introduced back into the diet (and for some, like me, it’s more of an introduction vs. re-introduction ; )

I found myself at the “Nugget”, a local Health supermarket roaming the aisles yesterday shopping for the foods of the Maker’s Diet, “Phase 1” list when it suddenly dawned on me that hey, I am movin’ on up to the east side (OK, flashback TV jingle from the Jefferson’s) and will be starting “Phase 2” of this 40-Day health experience tomorrow…which means…new foods to enjoy! Apples, oranges, grapes, kiwi, sweet potatoes, corn, beans of all sorts, and my favorite-cheese, glorious cheese! Phase 1 brainwashing, I mean, detoxing, sure was effective!

We are such creatures of habit. Although I was able to eat a variety of new foods today, I was drawn to eat the same foods that I have been accustomed to eating these last two weeks. Why? Because it had become familiar to me. I realized tonight while eating my dinner of tomatoes and cheese, strawberries, green beans, and almond butter with honey (so random) that change and transition, even in it’s smallest form is not easy. Going from the known into the unknown can be a little frightening. What could be so frightful about food? Well, it’s not so much the food itself, but more the present underlying questions such as:

Will I be able to keep this up for the rest of my life?”

Will these ‘new’ foods and the combinations of them being re-introduced to my body make me sicker?”

This almond butter with honey is tasting a little too good to me…Oh Lord give me self-control!”

Will I get too bored with my weird concoctions of meals and say like Joey from friends, “Fahget about it!”

So what to do when anxious thoughts and fears come your way? Brainwash your mind…it’s good for our brains to get washed from time to time with the best water there is out there-God’s word. Confess what is true:

Will I be able to keep this up for the rest of my life? God tells me to just take one day at a time because today has enough troubles of it’s own (and we are not promised tomorrow) Matthew 6:34 says, “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of it’s own.”

Will these ‘new’ foods and the combinations of them being re-introduced to my body make me sicker? Trial and error. Live and learn, right? God won’t give me more than I can handle and what is the worst that can happen? A little stomach ache?

This almond butter with honey is tasting a little too good to me…Oh Lord give me self-control! One of the amazing benefits we get as Christians is to have the Holy Spirit living inside of us, which means not only do we have power to exercise supernatural gifts, we also have “fruits” and evidence of the Holy Spirit showing through us like-love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control (Galatians 5:22-23)

And the boredom question? Well, food is for the stomach and stomach is for food…it doesn’t always have to be an exciting event (1 Corinthians 6:13)

I am embracing this change, taking one day at a time, trusting God with my future knowing that He is good and that His plans for me are good too. All this from some time spent with God, me and the Nugget.

Pressing forward!

2 thoughts on “God, The Nugget & Me

  1. Oh Miss Lara- I bought the book today! The parking lot was empty at my book store 🙂 I will let you know when I get on this Makers Diet train.
    Hang in there! Phase 2 woot woot!!

    • Go on Girl!! Proud of you and loved how the sea parted for you in the parking lot today ; ) You are going to do great and let me know if there is anyway I can help when you do jump on this “Rubinite” train! Much love to you~

Leave a Reply

