Commitment & Awe

Greetings! Here we are…Day 4 on the “Maker’s Diet-40-Day Health Experience” (Jordan Rubin) and going strong! Today was a day that the diet calls for a “partial-fast” fasting the day with the exception of dinner and the “cleansing drinks.” As I was making my dinner along with preparing tomorrow’s lunch, I had a variety of thoughts that I thought might be helpful to share:

  1. Choosing to eat healthy takes time, energy, determination, and commitment. When I came home tonight from work like most of us who work a 40+hour week…this guuurl sure was TIRED! (and that Lupus sure doesn’t help matters either ; ) But…(as I was self-coaching) I have made a commitment and therefore need to push forward because I have a belly that is hungry and a lunch to be made for tomorrow’s hungry belly. So I got out all my ingredients for both my dinner and lunch with making my dinner first which was an omelette with spinach leaves, onions, and salsa mix in it. And as I was making my lunch (pic) I thought about what I could update on the blog about Day 4 that would be interesting and possibly exciting to talk about?  And, it dawned on me that when it comes to commitment, it is about being faithful day in and day out to that which you have committed to do…despite lack of moments of excitement along the way. 
  2. I am finding myself more and more fascinated with the foods I am consuming and in awe of the One who has made them! Strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, green beans, tomatoes, spinach, red bell peppers, cucumbers, carrots, and on and on! The colors, the shapes, the tastes…all so perfect and completely 100% supernatural. God causes the seed to fall into the earth and die to then produce the life-giving fruit that comes out of the ground. We can plant the seed, water it, take care of it, but ONLY God has the power to make it grow. Power to give life is in no other hands but God. Fascinating!

“Then God said, ‘Let the earth sprout vegetation, plants yielding seed, and fruit trees bearing fruit after their kind, with seed in them, on the earth”, and it was so.” (Genesis 1: 11)

P.S. Posted is a pic of one of my lunches this week of tuna-fish made with Omega-3 mayonnaise, onions, sea salt, pumpkin seeds, and sunflower seeds. I had a side salad with tomatoes, cucumbers, sea salt, extra-virgin olive oil, and apple-cider vinegar and some unsweetened green-tea from Starbuckles. Another pic is of my veggies that I have cut up and ready to eat that sits right in eye’s view when I open the refrigerator.

4 thoughts on “Commitment & Awe

  1. Miss Lara- I have been secretly reading your post in the shadows of not leaving a comment for fear of being sucked into your healthy eating… LOL!! No seriously, I am so proud of you. I went to find the book at my local book store here in Redmond but the parking lot was full and I took that as a sign… that I wasn’t supposed to eat healthy, 🙂 kidding of course LOL !!! Kinda not. I am going to try again to find the book and I will let you know when I do. I need to hop on this train with you, it’s just I know that the commitment level you speak of in this post is just not there yet for me.
    But you GO GIRL- as my momma would say!! So proud of you and praying for many healthy blessings to come your way because of this new commitment you have made.

    • Noel, you make me laugh! I appreciate your honesty and I completely understand! It is intense, that is for sure and I am asking God to help me each step of the way. So anyway you want to join this train…come on up! love ya and thanks for your encouragement!

  2. Curious if you are buying/ eating organic produce? I am hearing more and more about the pesticides on our produce. That has not stopped me from buying what I normally buy, but in the future it might.

Leave a Reply

