Day 1-Maker’s Diet

 

DAY 1-MAKER’S DIET

 

Hey there Maker’s Diet team! Today’s thee day…the day that we begin this 40-day Health Experience from Jordan Rubin’s book, “Maker’s Diet.” If you are just reading about this for the first time, I invite you to not only to take a peek at some of my recent blogs explaining a little more and will catch you up to speed, but also to join in at any time!

 

It has been a lot of fun for me to see others jumping on board this challenge and for a variety of different reasons too-health, healing, weightloss, etc. And, me being quite the novice in eating natural and ‘of the earth’ type of foods, I find the support team to be of great encouragement. We are in this together!

 

I am posting some pics of my meals today. Why? Because I want to show off my amazing culinary skills and my special gift of artistic display of foods. Only if it were “opposite day!” (remember that day in school? Loved it!) I am posting because I think that this type of diet can be quite intimidating to most people and if someone as “beginner” as I am can do this, then anyone can! ; )

 

This is how my day began…

 

I heard my alarm clock go off and then had strange butterflies in my stomach because it was “game day!” My first thought was “Oh Jesus…please help me drink that nasty green sandy drink!” (seriously) then I stumbled downstairs to the kitchen to consume this wonderfully delicious green sandy drink (a.k.a. “Cleansing Drink”) literally gagging afterward (quite a lovely sight) frantically looking for something nearby to eat to rid the taste. Blueberries worked wonders! Then I cooked me up some organic eggs with salsa mixed using coconut oil. After breakfast, I took 2 “Women’s Vitamin Code” supplement.

 

Few hours later (and lots of water along the way throughout the day) had a snack mix of RAW pumpkinseeds, sunflower seeds, and almonds.

 

Lunchtime came and I ate lots of veggies and fruits that filled my Ziploc baggie with some more of the snack mix I had earlier because…this girl was HUNGRY!

 

Afternoon snack came and I had lots of raspberries and iced-unsweetened green tea.

 

Then the dreaded moment for me (I really need some help in this!)…time to drink #2 of the “Cleansing Drink” (aka nasty green-sandy drink). I chugged it saying, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!” (you think I am joking?) reminding myself how GREAT this is for my body. I later learned that this drink comes in pill-form! Singing the hallelujah chorus now! Until then, I have an expensive supply of the powders that I will be taking until they are gone.

 

Before dinner (and while I was shopping for dinner at “The Nugget” a Whole Foods type of store) I ordered a freshly squeezed carrot juice with spinach leaves.

 

For dinner I made chicken (organic/grass-fed/no hormones) with sauteed mushrooms, onions, fresh spinach leaves, Celtic salt using Coconut oil with a side of fresh avocado (yes, Suri, you can have avocado!!) I ate some blackberries for “dessert”

 

After dinner, I took 2 more capsules of “Women’s Vitamin Code” along with 2 capsules of fish oil.

 

There you have it-my first day of the Maker’s Diet! Let me know if you come up with some good recipes/ideas of meals because I will probably be playing a lot of ‘re-runs’ with my meals.

 

P.S. There were some challenges emotionally and physically today during different times of the day, as to be expected. Like when I clocked out for lunch and was holding my Ziploc baggie full of veggies/fruits thinking that a sandwich sure would go great with this. (Oh, but not yet, not for 2 weeks.) It hurt a little, not sure where exactly? Somewhere in my soul that has liked to be comforted by food. So while I was feeling the pain of self-discipline (which will produce great results), I began to pray and committed to do this as I walk this journey out. And physically? Remember Jordan Rubin said to be ready to feel the effects of sugar/caffeine withdrawals that can even bring flu-like symptoms? For me, it was the headache. But I just kept reminding myself that this will pass and it will be well worth it!

 

Goodnight! And tomorrow’s a new day!

 

Scripture I read this morning as I was spending time with God (a part of my morning routine for the last 19 years):

 

He causes the grass to grow for the cattle, and vegetation for the labor of man, so that he may bring forth food from the earth” (Psalm 104:14)

Leave a Reply

