Dreaming Pain

While on my way to work this morning, I was doing what I so often do at 7am to pass the time of my twenty five minute commute to work-I was praying (just talking to God).  A few years ago, my radio/cd player in my old car broke, and I went without it for over a year and a half. I grew to like the quietness in my car, in particularly because I recognized that I found myself praying more and talking to God more during those times. So much so, that I often now go without sound in my car to be able to have some processing time, and my cherished chats with God. This morning was one of those times.

My prayers jumped around their usual routes-from people I love, to hopes of finding love, to people hurting, for those in Japan, and stopped for quite some time on one particular request that has been getting alot of attention in my prayer time to God.

I have dreamt of publishing a book series for a couple years now, and have worked harder than I have ever worked to see this come about. Most of what I have written so far has been written through much pain. It is often the case that when I plan on writing, I either get sick, or something happens with my computer (and let me tell ya that this sometimes can be a greater trial to this tech-challenged sista!) This was the bulk of what my prayers were this morning. And, then I prayed this prayer, “God, I have experienced such pain in trying to get this book written, will you please make it that there will be no more pain and I can give birth to this thing already!”

Then I had an ‘aha’ moment where I saw these words consecutively and in slow motion: Give-Birth-In-Pain and then it dawned on me…birthing pains. What mother doesn’t have birthing pains when pushing out that amazing gift of a child? Even with an epidural, there is still pain involved in the process.

The journey of seeing our dreams come true is similar to the journey of a birthing a baby. The dream is conceived in our hearts, then slowly grows bigger and clearer along the way, and just before the dream becomes a reality-the worst pain happens right before the miracle of the dream comes true. God gives us His own version of an epidural through Himself to help us get through it, and to keep on pushing until we see the dream fulfilled!

What I saw through my prayer rabbit trail with God this morning was to not let the pain stop us from seeing our dreams come true. Because the dream is right around the corner. Don’t give up! YOUR dreams ARE worth it! The world needs you to pursue your dreams, and so do…YOU!

DREAM! Push through the pain…it is worth it!

3 thoughts on “Dreaming Pain

  1. This reminds me of John 16:21-23: ” A woman giving birth to a child has pain because her time has come; but when her baby is born she forgets the anguish because of her joy that a child is born into the world. So with you: Now is your time of grief, but I will see you again and you will rejoice, and no one will take away your joy. In that day you will no longer ask me anything. Very truly I tell you, my Father will give you whatever you ask in my name.” That’s so weird; I just read this a couple weeks ago and it stuck out so I bookmarked it… Great post, Lara. God will open the door when it’s time. (And I’ll be there to illustrate! :D)

Leave a Reply

