Hydrocodone Word

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” (John 1:1)

I was inspired this rainy Sunday afternoon to tackle organizing an ever increasing stack of birthday/Christmas/Valentine cards and other misc. items that had slowly been accumulating on my bedroom chair. With the help of my friend “Pandora”, this process turned out to be quite an enjoyable one.  After finishing this long overdue project, with my Bath & Body Works Vanilla Coconut candle burning in the background, I sat on my bed, pulled my cozy baby blue blanket over me, and pulled out my bible.

As I began to read the book of Proverbs, specifically chapter six and seven (which fellas…some great wisdom about staying away from those smooth-talking ladies), I began to feel really good on the inside, similiar to something I had felt before. I stopped reading, and realized that the way I was feeling on the inside, was just like what I felt when I was on the painkiller-Hydrocodone! Indredible.

Reading the Bible is like taking the best drug without any guilt, negative side effects or consequences! That is such the heart of God for us.  He wants us to come to Him, and part of coming to Him is reading His Word. There is a supernatural aspect of the Bible that when you read it (after your eyes have been opened when you receive the gift of salvation), you experience such amazing emotions of peace and joy that can only come through a supernatural God. 

We go to so many things to try to find peace, looking to natural painkillers to help escape life’s pains, when God has the best painkiller out there for us-Himself and His Word.

Go to Him with your pain, and take the pill of His Word-it will heal you, revive you and bring you peace.

5 thoughts on “Hydrocodone Word

  1. Oh my gosh yes! You remember- I used to take so many pills and medications… I still don’t know how I could do that when the ANSWER to my pain was right in front of me in the Bible! Yes, this is so true- great post!

Leave a Reply

