What Will Be Your Thumbprint? (January 1, 2007)

The Parable of the Talents

“Again, it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted his property to them.

To one he gave five talents of money, to another two talents, and to another one talent, each according to his ability.

Then he went on his journey. The man who had received the five talents went at once and put his money to work and gained five more. So also, the one with the two talents gained two more. But the man who had received the one talent went off, dug a hole in the ground and hid his master’s money.

After a long time the master of those servants returned and settled accounts with them. The man who had received the five talents brought the other five. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with five talents. See, I have gained five more.’

“His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!‘ (Matthew 25)  

Quite often, I think about this passage of scripture. It seems to be a re-occuring topic of discussion these days that I bring up before God.

Why?

One of the deepest desires of my heart is that I  be used by God. I often pray (and many times in tears) that I would fulfill the purpose and plan that I was created for. And that I would be faithful in stewarding the talents that were allotted to me by God to help make my thumbprint on the world… to help the poor, the needy, the sick, the suffering, to love those who are hurting and unloved.

The question I wonder is how many talents have you entrusted to me God and am I working them or burying them? 

I look at Oprah and am so inspired by her and how she is in her lifetime leaving a huge thumbprint on the world. She has clearly been given many talents. And, more importantly, she is working them. She is using the money made by her gifts and her influence to help others. I respect her for that.

What about you? What are the talents you have been given? Are you using them for good and to help others? Or are you burying them out of fears? I encourage you to think about your passions. What injustices make you mad, sad or both? Do you hurt inside when you see children orphaned? Or when you hear about women being abused? Or the sufferings of poverty?…Begin there to identify some areas where you can become active in helping make a difference.

Maybe you have been given an amazing ability to sing? Or dance? Or write? or…the list goes on and on. Find a way to multiply your talent. Be creative. Be generous. There really are no limits as to how you could use the talents God has entrusted to you. We are all given talents, whether one or five- we all have something to offer this world. Be courageous! Don’t bury your talents, work them, multiply them! Make a difference. Make the thumbprint only you can make!

Leave a Reply

